The Museum’s collection showcases the history of families, businesses, properties, public utilities and churches of the Glen Innes district.
Our collection includes a century-old slab cottage re-erected and furnished as in the 1870s; a gracious Victorian dining room, parlour, colonial kitchen and bedroom; farm machinery and implements from an age when the horse or the farmer himself supplied the power.
A foot-powered dentist drill, hand-drawn ambulance and fire engine and an early hand-powered Wolseley shearing machine all show how far science has progressed in less than 150 years.
There are miscellaneous displays of everything from typewriters to telephones, photographs to phonographs, costumes to clocks and hand-turned washing machines to massive mangles.
There is the Services Memorial Room, a hospital kitchen and medical wing, diorama displays and the Celtic room.
There is a hospital ward left as it was when the new hospital was occupied in 1956, displays of rocks and minerals found in the district and so on.
Pieces from the collection are displayed in 25 rooms. Additionally, there are numerous examples of early farm machinery in the spacious grounds. Several of these are very unusual and well worth a look.
Out of hours there are the extensive grounds, static displays and the old hospital buildings, suitably signed, so feel free to have a look around even if the Museum is closed.
Beyond the displays, we have extensive archives. Many visitors tracing family histories have uncovered previously unknown details of their ancestors. For research enquiries, please see the Research page (appointment preferred).